Changes to VK9 suffix

    Thanks to VK3PA for the alert:

    The Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA) has decided to discontinue the use of a VK9 callsign suffix letter to denote each of the six Australian external territories, each a DX entity.

    The long-standing prefixes included VK9C for Cocos (Keeling) Island, VK9L Lord Howe Island, VK9M Mellish Reef, VK9N Norfolk Island, VK9W Willis Island and VK9X Christmas Island. 

    From 1 November, callsigns for the VK9 DX entities will fall in line with the practice for issuing callsigns for all other VK call areas, with the suffix only to denoting the class of licence issued – Advanced, Standard or Foundation.

    Full details