The great expectation of DX quadruplets

    By Jim Linton, VK3PC

    The five islands of the Netherlands Antilles in the Caribbean Sea are to undergo constitutional status changes next month and result in a four new DXCC entities.

    Sint Maarten PJ7, Curacao PJ2, Bonaire PJ4, each are to become a DX entity, while Saba PJ6 and Sint Eustatius PJ5 combined, are set to be a single entity due to their close proximity.

    There are two announced DXpeditions to Sint Maarten, and one each to Saba, Bonaire and Curacao, with that island also being the venue at the time for the Global Amateur Radio Emergency Conference GAREC-2010.

    The DX community is waiting for the 10th day of the 10th month 2010 for the new DX entities

    Two existing DXCC entities, PJ2/PJ4 Leeward Islands and PJ5/PJ6/PJ7 Windward Islands, is said to be set for deletion at the same time.

    Aruba P4 seceded from the Netherlands Antilles in 1986 and gained DXCC entity status at that time.